top of page
  • Writer's pictureOswego Creative

The Secret Weapon of Any Successful Marketing Agency

While creative assets may be the “heart” of every marketing agency – there is a lesser talked about, but equally as important, function that keeps that heart beating every second. In order for any business to function, and function well, it needs quality customer service and organized accounting. My role as Office Manager at Oswego Creative is the blood and oxygen flowing to the heart of our business.


At baseline, my day includes tracking down urgent paperwork, reconciling expense reports for 13 people, invoicing, banking, managing tax preparations, and so much more. Being the analytical and numbers driven voice at a creative agency is normal that I have gotten used to. I’ve been told it would be easier to herd cats.


What it takes to be successful at office management is a positive attitude. And successful office management is the secret weapon of any successful marketing agency.


In a world of seemingly mundane tasks, it’s of the utmost importance to have unbreakable optimism. For instance, you might get a 100 telemarketing calls each day. However, it’s important to smile and answer each phone call like it’s your first. It might just be your new biggest client calling for assistance.


For Oswego Creative, I’m like the central communication hub. Our producers and videographers could be out anywhere in the world capturing a story and I will be here holding down the fort. One of the most challenging aspects of my position is keeping track of the ever-changing employee schedules and the custom needs of the client.


Accounting is arguably the most important job in any business. It might not be exciting or filled with all the newest gidgets and gadgets but it is, however, an indispensable role. And sure, a portion of my job could be done with some very spirited longhand arithmetic, but thankfully that is something I don’t have to do. Throughout the years my job has been made easier with the help of some integrated systems. I’m able to tie together expense-reporting, accounts payable, accounts receivable, payroll and more.


Having all this information come at me all at once requires some serious flexibility. I often have to change tasks in short order. Returning to the original task sometimes leaves me staring bugged eyed at my computer screen. I assure you this is an important step. I’m often executing some serious forensic accounting, which could be the equivalent of looking for a needle in a haystack. Nothing is quite as exciting as uttering the words, “I found it” or “We balanced”.

In my opinion, the most import thing you can do is maintain your smile and always return to the good attitude you started with. I take pride in my work and my role in keeping the heart beating and, of course, keeping the smile on my face.


By Anna Giron

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page