top of page
  • Mallory Radney

Digital Marketing 101


On my first day of college, as a nursing major, I walked to class with my lanyard around my neck, every single textbook I needed for the semester in my backpack, and a map of campus in my hands (please keep in mind that my university was, at most, two miles long). Yes, I was that typical freshman. Like a typical freshman, I also discovered that the career I thought I was going to pursue was not the direction I wanted to go. Partly because after taking my first college science class I learned that science was not my strong suit. After much self reflection, i.e. pinning my future life on Pinterest, eating lots of microwavable macaroni and cheese, and exploring other majors, I realized I wanted to pursue a career in the digital field. Like a good millennial, I decided to pursue a career path relating to social media, which has led me to where I am today. So sit back, grab your popcorn, and get ready to discover for yourself a few basics of digital marketing. *lights dim*

I first want to clear the air about a few misconceptions relating to the digital marketing field since it’s relatively new. I have made a joke or two about how I spend all my time on Facebook. This is an exaggeration because although I do spend time on social media channels, it’s not for fun. When I spend time on Facebook or Instagram, I’m creating a brand’s voice, trying to relate to an audience, and helping them be part of the conversation online to attract attention by future customers. Younger audiences aren’t on Facebook as much as they used to be, and they don’t participate in more traditional methods of advertising, for example watching television and seeing commercials or reading the newspaper. This means it’s important to understand what channels work best to reach certain audiences.

Since we’ve established that we marketers don’t watch cat videos all day, let’s start with the basics. What is digital marketing? Digital marketing is advertising via online channels, like the aforementioned Facebook. It's different than traditional marketing because you are able to analyze marketing campaigns in real-time; therefore, allowing you to review methods and understand which work better than others. You monitor views (frequency and duration), sales conversions (visits to actual buys), and what content performs. The places you monitor these things on include the Internet, mobile apps, electronic ads, digital television and more. I have also put together a few flashcards with terms we use on a regular basis in the marketing department at Oswego Creative. Feel free to study them as often as you would like.

Now that you speak the language that is digital marketing you might be wondering who in the entire Northern America, Europe, and the rest of the continents on Earth cares. Well, I’m glad you asked. Digital marketing is important as it can help grow your business. It can also help consumers decide what brands they trust, feel that brands actually understand their preferences, and receive personalized and relevant content.

Given all this information, how does a digital marketer do their job, you ask? Well, lucky for you I actually am a digital marketing coordinator (omg no way). I focus on creating content for social media channels, managing said channels, writing blogs, and assisting the digital marketing team with SEO planning. I believe what makes a digital marketer successful is the ability to manage customer relationships across a variety of channels, maintain an understanding of the current trends, and utilize data to make better decisions in the future.

Check out this infographic from bestmarketingdegrees.org, where you can see what a typical day in the life of a digital marketer looks like.

If you *Uncle Sam point* want to start your career in the digital marketing field, I would first tell you good choice. The second thing I would tell you to start early, in college or at an educational institution where you can learn strategy and theory. Then, gain real life experience by doing a few internships. I can speak from experience when I say that internships often turn into careers, so that’s why your parents, professors, mentors often recommend them.

I hope at the end of this blog you have actually learned something, and thanks to those of you who read all the way to this point. If you have any questions, comments, or concerns please feel free to comment, like, subscribe, DM, or reach out by another alternative method.

If you would like to get in touch with us at Oswego Creative, for digital marketing purposes feel free to reach out to us. We’re available by phone, email, Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter.

0 comments
bottom of page